Best Of ShAFF - All The Wild Horses - Sheffield




28 May '20 | 7:30pm


28 May '20 | 9:00pm

The 90-minute adventure documentary ALL THE WILD HORSES follows international riders from all walks of life and all corners of the world as they compete in the Mongol Derby endurance horse race across the wilds of Mongolia. Based on the Chenggis Khan's original postal system, the Mongol Derby — billed as the toughest and longest horse race in the world — is strung along a network of 27 horse stations across one-thousand kilometers of Mongolian steppe. With the help of GPS-coordinates, the riders navigate from horse station to horse station, spaced around 40 kilometres apart. They battle extreme heat and elemental storms, swollen rivers and packs of menacing dogs as they navigate their way through the vast Mongolian wilderness. They change horses at every horse station, staying the nights out in the wild or with nomad families along the way. Serious injuries, broken bones and heat exhaustion are common and debilitating factors in a race that depends on hundreds of semi-wild, barely saddle-broke horses. Medical assistance is often hours away. After a very dramatic start, the first casualties are soon carted from the field, but this proves to be only a prelude for what is to come over eight gruelling race days. 22-year-old American rider Devan Horn battles heat, exhaustion and wild dogs as she takes the lead early on, trailed relentlessly by the black South African farm worker and horse trainer Monde Kanyana, as well as Irish jockeys Donie Fahy and Richie Killoran. This film throws up many twists, turns and a lot of physical drama as it builds to an unexpected, nail-biting and ultimately rewarding finish. Director Ivo Marloh rode the race twice with cameras and recording equipment to document the action first hand. On it's premiere screening at the Galway Film Fleadh in Ireland, ALL THE WILD HORSES was garnered with the Best International Feature Documentary award, and has since won Best Cinematography as well as a the audience award for best feature film.